1 (edited by masodo 2019-07-02 09:57:14)

Topic: How to do it.

I had somebody ask me how to convert games and wanted to re-post my reply here for wider consumption:
------

I have no experience in Flash game conversions so I really have no idea where you are coming from (experience-wise.)

Converting HTML5 games is just something I picked up and have really figured it out on my own for the most part. The real beauty of the HTML5 games is the open nature of the source code and the ability to edit in a text editor. I use EditPad Pro although I believe Notepad++ is preferred by most. I have also developed an appreciation for the Online JavaScript beautifier and have installed to my domain: http://deburger.com/ARCADE/acpi/js-beautify/ it will take the often obfuscated, un-formatted and minimized code included with some games and format it for readability.

I have converted several games so far and have really only been doing this for a year at most. Here is the collection of those I have worked on:
http://deburger.com/ARCADE/index.php?se … h#indextop

Most of my education came in the form of getting games that did not work (for whatever reason) to work in my arcade. I run a home-brew arcade script (PracticalLightning Arcade) that has its roots in the PHP-Quick Arcade by JCINK.
Developing that arcade has taught me a lot about coding in PHP/MySQL and getting into the games themselves has lead to a greater comfort working in JavaScript. I have been programming for the internet since the mid 90's and have experience in html, html5, JavaScript, ASP, ASPX, C#, VBScript, MySQL, MS-SQL, Linux, DOS, Perl & Python.  I have developed a home-brew content management system at InfinitelyRemote.com (also hosts gopher there on port:70) and run a GeekLog blog at BlogDogIt.com and work full-time as IT Manager in the Trade Show industry.